Go Back   Dallas Fort Worth 5.0 Mustang Club > Photos & Videos > Pics & Video

Sponsored Ads
Welcome to DFW50s.com

Register to remove these ads.

Old 02-19-2014, 03:26 PM   #1
El_Tortuga

Default First Track Day pics and Video

I got to take the Mustang out to my first Drivers Education (track day) this last weekend. It was a Porsche club event, with only a handful American cars. I had an awesome time, logging about 90 laps on the 1.7 mile course (CCW) at Motorsports Ranch in Cresson.

My learning curve now has now taken a huge upwards spike in just two days with 8 straight sessions of improvement. We had mostly perfect weather, but even the Sunday morning semi-wet conditions were a great learning experience too. We got something like 2.5 hours of on-track coaching and a couple of hours of classroom time. I was pleased as punch with the instructors, they were great.

As a track newbie, I started out in the green (lowest) group. After seeing the course and getting oriented, it was game on. Wow, what an adjustment from playing on slow speed Autocross courses. The track has tons of grip and so much more speed. It took a lot smother hand and more nerve, as suddenly I’m doing 100+ mph down the front straight just before diving on the brakes and wheeling it into the twisties at less than 30 mph. It was huge fun, and our 20 minute sessions would just flash by.

After a few sessions, the pieces of the puzzle started coming together. The speeds and fun kept increasing. Its pretty cool to see “just a Ford” eating up a string of Porsches. I’m not going to lie, passing this GT3 RS on Sat felt REALLLLY good. Here’s the action:

http://youtu.be/iimYVsHkjxs

Please don’t correct me by pointing out that car was lacking for driver and its capable of walking away from me without breaking a sweat. I’m going to remember it as me and the Mustang being awesome.
Its boatloads of fun to let the V-8 power and torque pull you up, especially on the older Porsches and Boxs